

Energy and Telecommunications Interim Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

63rd Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS
CLIFF LARSEN--Chair
EDWARD BUTTREY
ROBYN DRISCOLL
ALAN OLSON

HOUSE MEMBERS
KEITH REGIER--Vice Chair
MIKE LANG
MARY MCNALLY
TOM STEENBERG

COMMITTEE STAFFSONJA NOWAKOWSKI, Lead Staff
TODD EVERTS, Staff Attorney
JOY LEWIS, Secretary

Energy and Telecommunications Interim Committee State Capitol, Room 172

Friday, March 21

Blue links include information handed out to the ETIC during the meeting.

AGENDA ITEM TIMES ARE APPROXIMATE. Friday, March 21

9 a.m. Call to Order/Roll Call - Chairman Larsen

Introduction -- Secretary Joy Lewis

9:05 a.m. Follow-up on Prepaid Wireless 9-1-1 Issues (Tab 1)

Introduction -- Vice Chairman Regier

2. Attorney General's Opinion -- Jon Bennion

3. Department of Revenue -- Director Kadas, DOR

4. Public Comment

5. ETIC Questions and Discussion

6. ETIC Action, if necessary

9:30 a.m. **Agency Overview Presentation** (Tab 6)

PSC Overview -- Vice Chairman Lake

2. Public Comment

3. ETIC Questions and Discussion

10:00 a.m. RPS Survey Results and Environmental Follow-up (Tab 2-3)

1. Overview -- Ms. Nowakowski

2. Public Comment

3. ETIC Questions and Discussion

10:30 a.m. RPS Discussion Customer Impacts -- Overview (Tab 4)

Introduction -- Ms. Nowakowski

Public Service Commission -- Bob Decker

3. Montana-Dakota Utilities -- John Alke

4. NorthWestern Energy -- John Bushnell

5. Public Comment

6. ETIC Questions and Discussion

11:15 a.m. Renewable Energy Credit Reports (Tab 5)

1. Introduction -- Ms. Nowakowski

2. Legislative Perspective -- Senator Keane

Public Service Commission -- Bob Decker

4. Department of Revenue -- Gene Walborn

Public Comment

6. ETIC Questions and Discussion

7. ETIC Action, if Necessary

Lunch 12:00 p.m. 1:00 p.m. Green Schools (Tab 7) Overview -- Ms. Nowakowski 1. 2. CTA -- Anya Fiechtl 3. Department of Commerce -- Kelly Lynch and Doug Mitchell 4. Department of Environmental Quality -- Lou Moore 5. **Public Comment** ETIC Questions and Discussion 6. 1:30 p.m. Alternative Energy and Conservation Incentives (Tab 8) Introduction -- Ms. Nowakowski 1. 2. Department of Environmental Quality -- Lou Moore 3. Montana Renewable Energy Association -- Diana Maneta 4. Department of Revenue -- Gene Walborn 4. **Public Comment** 5. ETIC Questions and Discussion 2:00 p.m. Interoperability ITSD -- Quinn Ness 1. 2. **Public Comment** 3. ETIC Questions and Discussion 2:30 p.m. Pipeline Safety -- Federal Rulemaking (Tab 9) Stakeholders -- Michelle Slyder 1. 2. PHMSA -- Sam Hall 3. **Public Comment** ETIC Questions and Discussion 4. 3:00 p.m. **Break Rule Review** 3:15 p.m. Introduction -- Mr. Everts 1. 2. **Public Comment** ETIC Questions and Discussion 3. Other Business (Tab 10) 3:30 p.m. 1. Approve September and November 2013 Meeting Minutes 2. Power bill analysis -- Ms. Nowakowski 3. Instructions to Staff for May meeting Discussion of May agenda -- Miles City 4. 4:00 p.m. Public Comment on matters within the jurisdiction of the ETIC

If you plan to attend this meeting and will need services or accommodations, please contact Sonja Nowakowski (406-444-3078 or snowakowski @mt.gov) at least 5 working days before the meeting.

Adjourn

Cl0124 4078slxa.

4:30 p.m.