

Water Policy Interim Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

65th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS

JILL COHENOUR
PAT CONNELL
JON SESSO
JEFF WELBORN

HOUSE MEMBERS BOB BROWN ZACK BROWN JOHN FLEMING CARL GLIMM COMMITTEE STAFF

JASON MOHR, Lead Staff

HELEN THIGPEN, Staff Attorney

NADINE SPENCER, Secretary

AGENDA (as of July 28, 2017)

WATER POLICY INTERIM COMMITTEE

Room 152, STATE CAPITOL JULY 31-Aug. 1, 2017

*The field trip is limited to committee members and confirmed guests, as space is limited. Guests must be confirmed by July 21 by contacting Jason Mohr, WPIC staff, at 444-1640 or jasonmohr@mt.gov.

AGENDA TIMES ARE APPROXIMATE

Monday, July 31

10 a.m. Call to order – Sen. Jon Sesso

- Roll call
- Committee member introductions
- Approval of minutes from October, 2016

10:15 a.m. **Staff introductions**

10:20 a.m. WPIC overview – Mr. Mohr

10:30 a.m. **Adoption of rules** – Mr. Mohr

- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action

10:45 a.m. **Review of 2017 water legislation**

- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

11 a.m. **Discussion of interim priorities**

- Overview of work plan Mr. Mohr
- Overview of administrative rulemaking Todd Everts, director, Legal Services Office
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

Noon Lunch

1 p.m. Field trip: A water tour of the Helena Valley

- Helena Regulating Reservoir
- Prickly Pear Fishing Access Site
- City of Helena Wastewater Treatment Plant

Presenters include: Bureau of Reclamation, City of Helena, Helena Valley Irrigation District, DNRC, DEQ, Lewis and Clark County Water Quality Protection District, FWP, Montana Bureau of Mines and Geology.

5 p.m. **Recess** for day

Tuesday, August 1

9 a.m. **Reconvene**

9:05 a.m. Election of WPIC presiding officer and vice presiding officer

9:15 a.m. Agency overviews of water-related programs

- Department of Agriculture Director Ben Thomas
- Department of Environmental Quality Director Tom Livers
- Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks Director Martha Williams
- Department of Natural Resources and Conservation Director John Tubbs
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

10:30 a.m. Water right adjudication update (85-2-281, MCA)

- John Peterson, bureau chief, Water Adjudication Bureau (DNRC)
- Chief Water Judge Russ McElyea, Montana Water Court
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

11 a.m. **Drought, water supply, and wildfire outlook**

- Ann Schwend, water resource planner, Water Resources Division (DNRC)
- Hoyt Richards, Central Land Office area manager, Forestry Division (DNRC)
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

11:30 a.m. **Numeric nutrient standards report** (75-5-313, MCA)

- Tim Davis, Water Quality Division administrator, DEQ
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

Noon Lunch

1 p.m. Water research (85-2-105, MCA): Overview of water programs at MBMG

- Ground Water Assessment Program John LaFave, senior research hydrogeologist and program manager
- Ground Water Investigation Program Ginette Abdo, senior research hydrogeologist and program manager
- Surface Water Assessment and Monitoring Program John Metesh, director (MBMG) and state geologist
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

2 p.m. Clark Fork and Kootenai River Basins Council

• Erin Farris-Olsen, executive director, Montana Watershed Coordination Council

2:30 p.m. Aquatic Invasive Species update

- Thomas Woolf, AIS bureau chief, FWP
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

3 p.m. Update from Environmental Quality Council

• Joe Kolman, environmental analyst, LEPO

3:15 p.m. **Break**

3:30 p.m. **Administrative matters**

- Adoption of committee work plan (continued)
 - o Public comment
 - Committee discussion and action
- Budget overview Mr. Mohr
- Adoption of WPIC meeting dates Mr. Mohr
- Committee contact information Mr. Mohr
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

4:45 p.m. Public comment on any issue within the jurisdiction of the WPIC

4:55 p.m. **Instructions to staff**

5 p.m. **Adjourn**