Skip to main content


The Senate is made up of 50 members elected to 4-year terms. Montanans elect half of the 50 members every 2 years.

View The Legislator Roster

There are 17 Senate Committees, which meet on varying schedules to hear public comment on proposed legislation. All committee meetings are open to the public. Members of the Senate Finance and Claims Committee also serve on several joint subcommittees, which meet to review and debate state spending proposals.

View The Senate Committees

Secretary of the Senate

Marilyn Miller

Room 302B, State Capitol

Contact Marilyn

Sergeant at Arms

Carl Spencer

Room 375, State Capitol

Contact Carl

Session Contact Information

By Phone 
During legislative sessions, which occur in the first 4 months of odd-numbered years, you may leave a message for a legislator by calling the Session Information Desk, (406) 444-4800. This service is available from 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Mondays through Fridays, and from 8 a.m. to adjournment on Saturdays.

By Mail
Address letters to:
Senator (NAME)
Montana Senate
P.O. Box 200500
Helena, MT 59620-0500

By Online Message Form 
Send a message to your legislator using the Legislative Branch online message form. This form is activated on the first day of each legislative session.

By Fax 

Scott Sales

Scott Sales

President of the Senate

Bozeman, SD 35, Republican

Sen. Sales Information

Fred Thomas

Fred Thomas

Majority Leader

Stevensville, SD 86, Republican

Sen. Thomas

Jon Sesso

Jon Sesso

Minority Leader

Butte, SD 37, Democrat

Sen. Sesso

Mike Blasdel

Mike Blasdel

President Pro Tempore

Big Fork, SD 5, Republican

Sen. Blasdel

Not sure who represents you in the Montana Legislature?
Need to know how to contact your legislator?

Find My Legislator
leaf decorative element

Watch/Listen to Meetings